About Us

The New Hartford Historical Society is a non-profit organization incorporated in 1938 and for many years displayed its artifacts and memorabilia in the New Hartford Community House (damaged by fire and then taken down in 1947) and in the old New Hartford Library building. It was reactivated in 1972. By 1975, it had prepared a two-room museum in the old Library building and dedicated it to Howell H. Richards, its new President. Over the years, the Society has supported publication of original works by town citizens…
 

In 2011, we moved from our previous building, Greystone, to 537 Main Street.  Our new location, across from Town Hall, is more convenient to downtown.
 

Today, the New Hartford Historical Society continues…

From the Town of New Hartford website: “New Hartford is a small, close-knit community located in the northwest corner of the state of Connecticut. It is bordered by Torrington to the west, Barkhamsted to the north, Canton to the east, and Burlington and Harwinton to the south. The Farmington River traverses the downtown area, providing scenic beauty to all who frequent the quaint shops and businesses located there. In the spring, fly fishermen can be seen casting their lines in one of Connecticut’s most well known catch-and-release areas. The summer brings kids of all ages to this river to experience the thrill of riding the rapids on a tube or in a kayak, available for rent from local vendors. Fall brings its own charm to New Hartford. Residents and visitors flock to the antique shops in the area while enjoying the spectacular colors of the foliage-covered rolling hills surrounding the town. Ski enthusiasts are drawn to New Hartford to the ski area with a great range of slopes sure to please all, beginner to advanced. A great variety of events are held throughout the winter; we welcome all to join in or just watch. New Hartford has it all!”